The PSA leadership team comprises a single Director, 4 Associate Directors, and at least 10 but no more than 20 Assistant Directors. The current leadership team (with related committees for associate and assistant directors):


Nicholas A. Coles, Stanford University (Email)

Associate Directors

Dana Basnight-Brown, United States International University – Africa (Email)

Erin Buchanan,  Harrisburg University of Science and Technology (Email)

Lisa DeBruine, University of Glasgow (Email)

John Protzko, Central Connecticut State University (Email)

Study Selection

The Study Selection Committee reviews study submissions and selects which proposals will be pursued by the Accelerator.

  • Kathleen Schmidt, (Email) (Assistant Director)
  • Randy McCarthy, Northern Illinois University (Email)
  • Miroslav Sirota, University of Essex (Email)
  • Jan Antfolk, Åbo Akademi University (Email)
  • Melissa Kline, MIT (Email)


The Ethics Review Committee reviews all study submissions and identifies possible ethical challenges imposed by particular projects. They assess the overall ethicality of the proposed research as well as identify possible challenges in getting ethics approval from participating institutions.

  • Dana Basnight-Brown, United States International University – Africa  (Email) (Associate Director)
  • Biljana Gjoneska, Macedonian Academy of Sciences and Arts (Email) (Assistant Director)
  • Michael Mensink, University of Wisconsin-Stout (Email) (Assistant Director)
  • Gerit Pfuhl, University of Tromsø (Email)
  • Kim Peters, University of Queensland (Email)
  • Anna van ’t Veer, Leiden University (Email)

Translation and Cultural Diversity

The Translation and Cultural Diversity Committee advises the project leaders and Operations Committees with regard to standards and best practice of translation procedures and possible challenges in cross-cultural research. It also proposes actions to support cultural diversification of research and participation of otherwise underrepresented cultures and ethnic groups.

  • Maximilian Primbs, Radboud University (Email) (Assistant Director)
  • Ilker Dalgar, Ankara Medipol University (Email) (Assistant Director)
  • Anabel Belaus, Universidad Nacional de Córdoba (Email)
  • Sau-Chin Chen, Tzu-Chi University (Email)
  • Diego Forero, School of Health Sciences, Fundación Universitaria del Área Andina (Email
  • Aishwarya Iyer, Montfort Institute of Advanced Studies (ash.iyer17@gmail.com_
  • Chuan-Peng Hu, Johannes Gutenberg University Medical Center (Email
  • Asil Özdoğru, Üsküdar University (Email)Janis Zickfeld, University of Oslo (Email)
  • Jan Philipp Röer, Witten/Herdecke University (Email)
  • Patricia Arriaga, ISCTE – University Institute of Lisbon (ISCTE-IUL) (Email)
  • Miguel Silan, University of the Philippines Diliman (Email)

Community Building and Network Expansion

The Community Building and Network Expansion Committee exists to improve the reach and access to the Accelerator, both internally and with regard to public-facing activities. Activities of this committee include the creation and maintenance of an onboarding document, the creation of email templates, and tasks relating to social media.

  • Miguel Silan, University of the Philippines Diliman (Assistant Director) (Email)
  • Natália Dutra, Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte (Email
  • Crystal Steltenpohl, Dartmouth Center for Program Design and Evaluation (Email)
  • Jack Arnal, McDaniel College (Email)
  • Jordan Wagge, Avila University (Email)
  • Savannah Lewis, Ashland University (Email)
  • Nadia Corral-Frias, University of Sonora (Email)
  • Peter Mallik, Ashland University (Email)
  • Martin Vasilev, Bournemouth University, (Email)

Project Monitoring

The Project Management Committee provides guidance to team leaders regarding the management of crowd-sourced projects.

  • Hannah Moshontz, University of Wisconsin, Madison (Email) (Assistant Director)
  • Jordan Wagge, Avila University (Email) (Assistant Director)
  • Jeremy Miller, Willamette University (Email)
  • Nicholas Coles, Harvard University (Email)
  • Kelly Cuccolo, University of North Dakota (Email)
  • Chris Chartier, Ashland University (Email)
  • Heather Urry, Tufts University  (Email)
  • John Protzko, University of California – Santa Barbara  (Email)

Data and Methods

The Data and Methods committee is responsible for overseeing the methodological aspects of projects and curating and managing its datasets. Its responsibilities are divided into operations (activities to facilitate the normal functioning of the PSA) and research (activities designed to generate novel insights aligned with the PSA’s mission and principles). The operational responsibilities of the Data and Methods Committee can be further divided into (1) the methodological review of proposals; (2) development, review, and implementation of analytic plans; (3) development, review, and implementation of data management plans; and (4) data management post data release. Our research activities are more varied, but one current project involves the development of policies to facilitate novel meta-science projects with PSA resources. Our committee policies are here and our data management policies are here.

  • Jessica Flake, McGill University (Email) (Assistant Director for Methods)
  • Patrick Forscher, Université Grenoble Alpes (Email) (Assistant Director for Data)
  • Nicholas Fox, Rutgers University (Email) (Meta-Science Subcommittee Director)
  • Anna Szabelska, Queen’s University Belfast (Email)
  • Peder Isager, Eindhoven University of Technology (Email)
  • Balazs Aczel, Eötvös Loránd University (Email)
  • Zoltan Kekecs, Lund University (Email)
  • William McAuliffe, Cambridge Health Alliance/Harvard Medical School (Email)


  • Neil Lewis Jr., Cornell University (Email) (Assistant Director)
  • Patrick Forscher, Université Grenoble Alpes (Email)